top of page

Typical VA Workday



Hey there!


Can we just begin with the fact that there is no such thing as a typical day for a virtual assistant? Each day is filled with client fires that have to be put out, email anomalies and social media emergencies. And, you have no idea what is going to happen and in which order. The best you can do is have a daily outline or plan.


Monday’s are the most routine for me. They consist of meetings and catch up. Oddly enough they contain the least amount of fires but they are definitely the busiest of the days. Because of that, I begin with mindful meditation or an uplifting podcast.


Monday Schedule:

7:40 a.m. : Wake Up



I sleep a tiny bit later during the rest of the week but on Monday’s I’m up earlier. I have more client emails and a host of calls so I want to get ahead of the game.


Monday Schedule:

7:50 a.m. - 8:10 a.m. : Mindful Meditation, coffee, beginning 10K steps


Every morning I start off with meditation, visualization and a positive podcast or a quick positivity YouTube video. It gets your mind ready for the day. Then I sip my coffee and walk 2K steps. Don’t forget about walking each day. It’s important!


Monday Schedule:

8:30 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. : Client emails and social media

9:30 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. : Client meetings


There is A LOT of coffee included in this time. I walk in order to get steps if I can take a client call while I take out the trash or check the mail.



I schedule client email reviews when I’m fresh, first thing in the morning. I talk to clients about their week and see where we stand with projects. It’s important that each client gets their Monday time.


Monday Schedule:

11:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. : “Brunch”


I don’t eat a full breakfast most mornings. I’ve just never really been a breakfast person. I have brunch, listen to another podcast and check my own social media. It’s important to have organic interactions with your social media followers and potential followers.


Monday Schedule:

12:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. : Client meetings, blog posts, pm client emails and client research


I write my own blog posts as well as posts for clients. I also provide clients with research for travel, articles, social media, etc. I block my afternoon for more meetings and email reviews. I also take the time to create documents for clients on what next steps are for emails that they have received.


Monday Schedule:

4:30 p.m.- 5:30 p.m. : Daily Invoicing, Accountability call prep, Content review


When I first began billing clients, I waited until the end of the month. Even though I only had a few clients, it would take me 5 - 6 hours to get everything together! I decided to pull numbers at the end of every day instead of waiting until the end of the month. I have a quick daily sheet that I use and then on Friday’s, I tally the sheet and let my clients know where they stand.


I have an accountability call each week. While the call isn’t until later in the week, I like to make sure I’m on track for the call. I also look at my content calendar and make sure that I know what I need to write for the week.


Then, I close out my day by transferring anything that didn’t get done, to the next day. It is so important to make that transfer. I don’t want to forget anything or let it drop from my list. I also look at what I have transferred more than once. Is it something that I need to do first thing in the morning or is it something I need to delegate? If I’ve transferred it twice, it’s time to think of delegating it or dropping it!


Like I said before, no day is typical -- Monday’s are just more routine than others. I pack a lot into a long day so by 5:30 p.m. or 6:00 p.m., I’m ready for that glass of wine or specialty beverage. I’ve earned it!


What is your typical day like? Do you have it planned out or let it just happen. Remember, I always say if you don’t plan your day, you are letting it happen to you.


Don’t let your day happen to you. Plan it!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page