top of page

Why Do You Need A Virtual Assistant? - Customer Engagement


Hey there!


I recently went to a restaurant and experienced the worst customer service I’ve experienced in quite a while. The atmosphere of the restaurant was fine and food was pretty good. The place was close to my house so I didn’t have to drive far. But, that didn’t make up for the lousy customer service.


Our waitress seated us, took our food order and gave us our drinks fairly quickly but we didn’t see her again for 20 minutes. She didn’t come back to check on us or our food or even look our way. I had to ask another server to check on our food. Once we got our meals, we still didn’t see her until I walked over to her and asked for my ticket. I wasn’t the only one that experienced this either. One person walked out and another person sent his food back and got up to leave as well. By the time I left the restaurant I had decided that I was never going back to that particular location. For me to make that type of decision is pretty major. I’m laid back and can tolerate a lot. But, I’m also not a typical customer.


A typical customer runs at the first sign of trouble. They don’t want excuses or apologies -- they simply want to leave. One of the issues that small businesses might have is that they start off being able to handle customer engagement but as they grow, so does the demand on them. After a while, they simply can’t keep up with the customer engagement side of the house and think that they can do without it.



You can offer the best product on the market. You can package it up very nicely and offer it at a price better than the competition. But, if your customer engagement is lacking, you can lose a customer quickly. And, as I did after my experience, customers tell everyone when they’ve had a bad experience. They shout it on the rooftops!


What can you do to avoid this? Talk to a virtual assistant and see how they can assist you with your customer engagement. A VA can answer questions, take feedback or even deal with complaints. The worst thing you can do is nothing. Silence will kill your business.

After you and your VA have worked together for a while, they can spot areas of opportunity. Perhaps you’ve been leaving money on the table! A fresh pair of eyes can spot that for you.

They can also handle your refunds or returns, track your merchandise, run reports and notice sales trends. Perhaps item C has been combined with item K a lot. Offering a combo pack might help boost sales or perhaps offering a recurring order system might help.


Virtual assistants are meant to be an extension of your business. They help you grow your business. They want the best for you just much as you do. They also have the time to handle the administrative side of the house, while you handle other things.


You only have 168 hours in a week. I can't give you more hours but I can free up some of those hours so that you can spend more time building your business.



It just makes sense to make The Wright Connections!

14 views0 comments
bottom of page