top of page

Organization - Dollar Tree DIY Organization


Hey there!

Up until about 6 months ago, I didn't have a real organization system for my craft area (aka the other half of my bedroom). When I purchased new things, I put them in mismatched boxes. Sometimes I labeled those boxes. When I had a project to work on, I pulled out containers from where I thought my embellishments and materials might be. As my collection of materials grew, I knew that I couldn't keep that up.

So I began to think about color schemes and I picked up boxes and containers from different stores. As I picked up containers in shades of grey and blue, I came across a specific shade of blue from the Dollar Tree. A dusty cornflower shade of blue became the color of my crafting area.

Now, how does that work when we all know that Dollar Tree has things that come in stock and then quickly go out of stock? Well, that is a bit of a problem. Take for instance the fact that I love the dusty cornflower blue organization bins that I have. I loved them for the full week that I could find them at Dollar Tree and then they were all gone. What's a girl to do?!

I have these 1/4 cup embellishment containers that I have been using for quite a while. They hold small buttons or loose gemstones or sequins. They close well and they are an item that Dollar Tree has kept bringing back for several years. They are white so that matches everything but they aren't dusty cornflower blue! I could keep them white or...

I could paint them Tuscan Teal from Apple Barrel paint.

I tend to do the most so I wanted to paint my containers to match the other things in the room. Let's be honest -- I wasn't sure it would work.

I gave these clear plastic containers 3 coats of paint. And you know what? It worked! If you look outside the container, it matches the blue Dollar Tree baskets that I picked up. I also painted the tops but quickly decided that it wasn't necessary (or working as great as I thought it would).

Now, I have only created a few of these containers. After painting them, I did spray them with a protective coating. Let's give them an embellishment whirl and see how they work.

Maybe 60 days? Let's check back in and see if this little Dollar Tree organizational DIY works, shall we?

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page