top of page

A Place For Yarn


Hey there!

It all began with 2 skeins of yarn. I wanted to make a tassel. In order to make tassels you need yarn. Well, 2 skeins quickly became a tub full.

It wasn't really a problem when I had 8 skeins of yarn. I went to the Dollar Tree and picked up a plastic basket and kept my yarn in there. As my collection grew, the plastic basket no longer worked. I had more yarn on my floor than in the basket and who wants to use yarn that's been on the floor? Have you seen a craft room floor? Glitter, paint and paper pieces are all over the place. You don't want that in your yarn. I knew I needed a better system. I just had to figure out what.

This weekend Michael's had baskets on sale 50% off. I always look at baskets because you can use them to hold everything. I looked through their selection and I decided to grab one for my yarn. But, you can't just put yarn in a wooden basket! You'll snag the yarn.

I have fabric remnants lying around from projects that I have created so I pulled out a really soft piece of fabric and made sure it tucked well into the basket.

To adhere my fabric, I pulled out my glue gun. You're going to need more than two sticks. I was obviously being optimistic. I wasn't going for super neat or all tucked under. I simply wanted the wood of the basket covered so that my yarn wouldn't get pulled and messed up.

I ended up being able to put 20 skeins of yarn in the basket and I probably have room for 8 - 12 more skeins. It looks much nicer than the overflowing bin that I had been using and nothing is hitting the floor.

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page