top of page

October Daily - 2016

Hey there!

I always say that I am a summer girl. I love the warmer (hot) weather and I love getting my summer tan on (through a good layer of sunscreen, of course). But, Fall is when my inner diva gets her grove on. What I mean is, I take lots of pictures, I craft more and I create the most scrap books.

One thing that I want to try this year is creating an October Daily. I have seen other folks talk about their October Daily books and I have of course, been watching YouTube videos of October Daily preparations and flip thrus. I was pretty sure that I could fill up a 31 day album no problem!

Let’s back up just a little bit. Some of you good folks may not know what an October Daily is. Well, an October Daily is basically a way to capture your month of October. It can be through pictures, journaling, mixed media pages, etc. You can go with a project life process, a scrapbook process or any other process you want to use. The main thing is to capture your October and tell the story that you want to tell. My story is the turn of the seasons. I plan on using a combo of everything in my October Daily!

I first heard about October Daily on YouTube from Serena Bee and Sabrina Ann. Once I saw Serena's October Daily 101 and prep video and Sabrina's October prep video, I knew I wanted to follow suit. While I wanted to create an October Daily book, I wasn't 100% sure how I wanted to put it together. I thought I knew up until the very last minute. And then I had to go back to the craft stores and get the supplies I needed.

I love the rich paper that Fall brings in. I am adding orange, tan, brown, cream and purples into my October Daily along with the traditional black background. I plan on using a few single sheets that I have picked up over time but I did pick up the Ravenshead Manor Paper pad from Recollections at Michaels. This paper pad not only has the color scheme I wanted to go with, with the pages have excellent texturing and plenty of cutouts that I can use. There are some pages within this pad that just make me giddy!

I wanted to make sure that I had plenty of stickers and washi tape ready. I love adding embellishments to everything that I do. I chose several seasonal washi tapes but I’m sure I’ll add the regular black, orange, purple and green. I have a pumpkin rhinestone sticker embellishment that I found in the clearance bin at Michaels and some cute, creepy stamps that I plan on using! And yes, you see glitter. Of course you do!

It took me almost three weeks to decide on the binding system that I would use for my October Daily. Once I mulled it over I decided to go with a chipboard binder with 3 rings and a cover pocket. It's bigger than I really wanted but that just means more real estate for pictures and project life cards and embellishments. I am just a little excited -- can you tell?!?

So that’s my October Daily prep for the month. Are you planning an October Daily? I'd love to see what everyone is doing. If you are trying your hand at it this year tag me over at Instagram using #DIYWright. And, check back in November to see my finished October Daily in a post.

So that’s my October Daily prep for the month. Are you planning an October Daily? I'd love to see what everyone is doing. If you are trying your hand at it this year tag me over at Instagram using #DIYWright. And, check back in November to see my finished October Daily in a post.

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page