top of page

A Birthday Flipbook


Hey there!

There is no need to tell you that I really enjoy making flipbooks and mini albums as gifts for my friends and family. Having a birthday? Here's a special flipbook for you. Getting married? I made you a wedding album. It's a random Thursday? You sir or ma'am, get a handmade gift. All of my crafters know how we do.

So, a friend of mine saw another friend's mini album and mentioned that she would like one as well. Whaaaat? You know I like crafting! It just happened to be her birthday a few days later so I decided to pop out the paper and glue and get busy.

I chose to use the Craft Smith Hot Buy paper pad in Rooftop Garden. Not only did I love the colors in this paper pad, I loved the quotes and sayings - You are stronger than you think, wake up and be amazing, make today beautiful and the best is yet to come are some of the sayings inside. I knew that a good birthday gift would include words of encouragement. This paper pad has lots of great words of encouragement.

I made sure to add my "Inspire" wooden embellishment to the front. I colored it with my metallic watercolors from Michaels craft store and a Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist in Blue Icing. Never run away from wooden embellishments because of the color that they are in. You can always change the color.

I also decided to adhere my charm chain in a different way. I used a silver binder clip to add to the mini album. I thought it was a fun way to add your charms. I also added a diamond initial in the corner. Ok, a gemstone initial. I wanted to add diamonds though.

Then I went to town creating the book. I made sure I had a lot of places for pictures. There are about 25 picture spots and lots of journaling spots. I created tuck spots/folders for those pictures.

I used quite a few cuts outs with words of encouragement.

There are 6 double sided pages and within each page is a pull out photo mat/journaling spot. I made each one a different color. The journaling paper is just note paper from a writing pad from the Dollar Tree. I liked the way they turned out.

I enjoyed making this mini album. I did discover that when using heavier paper, I really need to add super secure tape or glue. I thought that the double sided tape that I always use would be enough. Sometimes it was and sometimes it wasn't. And, for my spine, I may begin using coordinating duct tape. My paper cracked so hard in the seams. It's a learning process so it's ok.

Just in case you wanted to see it a bit more in depth, I created a flip through video!

I hope you enjoy.

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page