top of page

2018 Desk Calendar


Hey there!

This is the time of the year when I start thinking about calendars. Yes, I have my Happy Planner and my Petals + Bloom planners but I like to have several calendars around my house. I don't know why. I just want to keep up with the days I guess -- the whole thing behind calendars really.

I digress. If you recall from last year, I did a DIY perpetual calendar. The kiddo changes the date on the calendar every morning. I like it but it's my living room calendar. I decided this year I wanted to make a calendar for my desk (not to be confused with my kitchen calendar or bedroom wall calendar).

So after watching a ton of YouTube videos and reading a lot of blogs, I settled on a simple desk calendar that just requires a few pieces of paper and a printable mini calendar.

Making the base of my calendar was the easy part. I took a piece of black cardstock (110lb weight for durability) and cut it in half so that I had 2 - 4 1/2" X 11" pieces of paper. I folded my paper in half so that it would stand on its own.

Well, it will kinda stand on its own. I added a hinge (4" X 3 3/4" paper) to keep it standing. The hinge really makes it stand better.

The hardest part of the craft was finding a calendar that cut correctly. You want all of your months to be the same size around. You'd be amazed at how difficult that was for me to do. I found my mini calendar on Etsy. I just printed it out, cut it down and stapled them together.

Once I found the right calendar and cut it down to size, I stapled the corners. I wanted the pages to be secure so I did a full on staple on each side.

You next step is to get a backing for the calendar and a matte for the calendar base. You can match your colors to the holiday season or to the person's (or your if it's for you) desk. I choose pretty color palettes instead of all holiday-ish. But, if you are giving them in your holiday cards, feel free to attach a big ole year on the bottom.

Mentioning the bottom, you will want to finish your mini calendar with some embellishments. I used a ribbon on most of mine and I used this cute stamp from my stash. You can add the year in sticker letters or markers. You can write a sentiment if you don't have a stamp or you can just leave it blank.

Once I mounted everything then I added it to the black cardstock base. I also added my hinge to the calendar base.

Then I went slightly crazy and made several calendars! They were so fun to make, I just kept making them.

What do you think? Are you interested in making one of your own? If you do, tag me on Instagram and let me see your creation!

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page