top of page

Making Holiday Gift Boxes


Hey there! It’s early. I know that very few of you are thinking about Christmas gifts but since I had to make a few company gifts, I thought I’d show you some of the things that I have made. I wanted give you some ideas so that you can get a jump on gifts.

I had a request for cocoa boxes. I must admit, these are my favorite gifts to make because you can create a small, cute gift or a larger, more robust gift. I went middle of the road for these cocoa boxes. The base of my cocoa box is a cute mug. You can get a cute mug from almost anywhere! From the dollar stores to the big box stores, you can find seasonal mugs, inspirational mugs, whimsical mugs, you name it you can find it. I like going to Dollar Tree to get my mugs. If I’m creating a cocoa box with a bigger pop I take a peek at T.J. Maxx or Marshalls for mugs. The next thing you need to add is cocoa! I’m lucky enough to have several stores that have nice individual cocoa packets. If you can’t find single packets in your big box stores, try finding inexpensive gift sets of cocoa and breakup the pack. If you can find a set, you can get the packets for $.50 - $1.00 each.

Mini marshmallows, candy canes and chocolates — those are the basics that I add to my cocoa boxes. You can upscale your chocolates or add several candy canes instead of just one or two. I used cute 6 g packets of mini marshmallows. If you can’t find these and you’re making gifts for friends and family, just get a cute food bag and add a scoop of marshmallows. If you want other ideas, add cookies, mini chocolate chips, crushed peppermint, chocolate covered pretzels or any yummy nibbles you can find. Think about the person that you are creating your gift for. What do they like to eat for snack? What do you see them regularly eat? If they like a certain candy bar, add it! They’ll love the fact that you know them.

The vessel for your cocoa gift depends on the size of your gift. If you are just giving a mug and some things inside, then just wrap the mug with plastic basket bags. If you have a larger gift find a holiday box. I found these boxes from Michaels for $2.50 on sale. Dollar Tree, Target and Walmart have boxes too.

Ribbon can be found almost anywhere. I used luscious, velvet ribbon from Michaels but at Christmas lots of stores have ribbon. Just find one that goes with your wrap or the items inside your box/mug. Creating a beautiful gift doesn’t have to break the bank. And, you can make several gifts designed for specific people. It’s easy to pick up something from the store but wouldn’t you like to get a customized gift like this? Me too!

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page