top of page

Using Dollar Tree Mini Photo Albums


Hey there!

A few posts back I showed a DIY summer album using Dollar Tree photo albums. I purchased quite a few of them because I knew that I’d have lots of project ideas. One of the ideas was to use the album as it was intended. I made a photo album.

One of the highlights of my trip to London a few months ago was walking through Kensington Palace and seeing the Diana: Her Fashion Story exhibit. It was moving and I enjoyed seeing the outfits and the stories behind each one. I snapped several pictures and wanted to create a little keepsake album for them.

The cover was easy. Because the album was a beautiful grey color, I used sky blue Thickers brand letters to spell out “Diana” on the album cover. I used letters from Tuesday Morning as well as the Dollar Tree.

I typically print my photos at home. They normally come out pretty well. This batch wasn’t as great as I normally like but the slight imperfections didn’t matter. I knew that flipping through my album would take me back to the exhibit and make me happy.

I used cardstock that I purchased at Michaels during a sale. I like the Recollections cardstock paper packs because they are color coordinated and easy to matchup with my projects. There are also a lot of color combos to pick from. I can normally find all of the colors for my projects in one of these packs.

Once I pulled my red, grey and white cardstock I began matting my photos. I started with my cover photo. That was just a simple photo of Diana matted on grey paper. Then I matted the other photos.

I keep word stickers and hearts, inspirational sayings and enamel dots handy. They work well with lots of layouts and sentiment cards that you might want to create. If I am using inspirational stamps on a project, I stamp out extra sentiments. I then have uplifting sayings for other projects.

I have different paper punches that I use frequently. Hearts and butterflies work well. I picked up both of these from craft stores and paid under $3. If you are looking for an investment for your craft area, a few really good paper punches will go far.

I also invested in a lined stamp pad. It’s large and creates a journaling spot for 4” X 6” papers. I can write down how I felt about each outfit.

Don’t sleep on these mini photo albums from Dollar Tree. Some of them are very pretty and can be customizable or each project. You can add 24 regular 4” X 6” photos or more if you have smaller photos like I do.

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page