top of page

My Summer Shaker Kit From Queen & Co


Hey there!

Last weekend I went to the Duluth Scrapbook Expo and I had a great time. I met new friends, tried out new products and shopped until I dropped. Yes, I needed a nap.

One of the goodies that I ended up with was summer shaker kit from Queen & Co. I was super excited to play with this kit. So, this weekend I sat down and played to my heart's content.

In my kit I received dies, self adhesive foam shapes, acetate pieces that fit over the shapes and a clear stamp set. The only thing I had to add to this kit was small scraps of paper and sequins.

The fantastic thing about this kit was I pulled out my scrap box and pulled out the smallest piece of orange paper and a small piece of brown paper. This is a nice way to use your leftover paper.

Also, I began my die cutting journey with a small die cutting machine (not the larger Sizzix that I have now). You can use these dies in your smaller machine! I only paid $15 for my smaller machine. Not a bad investment.

The first thing that I did was sat down to watch YouTube so that I could watch the videos on making these shaker cards. It’s very easy but I research everything so I wanted to make sure I got it right!

I keep card bases on hand. I cut a piece of paper ½” down from those card bases (I wanted to matte my card later) and added my popsicle foam shape on the base. They have adhesive on both sides so you pop the back side down and then you can add your sequins, beads, etc to the inside of the shape.

I used sequins of different colors and shapes. I picked up sequins from Dollar Tree, The Target Spot, and other stores. I added them to the foam shape and added the acetate topping (they keep the sequins in). I used my Queen & Co. super glue. It’s supposed to be best for the acetate topper. This may not be needed but I thought it best to stick with the complete kit before trying my own thing.

I added the orange die cut piece and cut the bottom of the brown piece to add a popsicle stick. I used the fantastic stamp set to stamp “You are the coolest” and “You make me melt” sentiments. Then I added sequins to the card base with just a tiny drop of the Queen & Co. super glue. Isn’t this gorgeous?

I have never used Queen & Co. products before but I am a fan now! These kits make it so easy to create fun shaker cards.

And you know that I love a good shaker card!!

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page