top of page

Making Cards With The Hampton Arts Pineapple And Flamingo Stamp Set


Hey there!

You guys know that I’m always late to the party! Well not in real life. In real life I’m on time or even early. But, when it comes to new craft products and techniques, yeah, I’m usually late.

I’ve owned this Hampton Arts pineapple and flamingo stamp set for at least a year and I’ve never touched it. I bought it for use last summer but the idea of matching up stamps and different colored inks frightened me. I’ve tried doing that with other stamp brands and ended up horribly.

I decided to be brave last weekend and pulled out all the colors that I thought would be good for pineapples. I knew that you had to use three inks for layers but I didn’t know which three would work best.

I ended up trying two Memento inks (Pear Tart & Dandelion) and two Tim Holtz distressed inks (Brushed Corduroy and Spiced Marmalade). I’m not mad at the results.

I ended up using a two step stamp process instead of three. The three steps looked too convoluted and when I watched a few (who am I kidding? A lot of) videos, the two step stamp process looked cleaner to me.

I haven’t always been smart enough to but dies with my stamp sets. When I began crafting, I wanted to save money. Since then, I’ve learned my lesson- buy the die! But, I don’t own the die for this set so I fussy cut the pineapples. It wasn’t too terrible but I’m glad I only made two pineapples!

Oh! The flamingos! I pulled three Memento inks (Lilac Posies, Grape Jelly and Rose Bud) and one Altenew crisp ink (Puffy Heart).

Again I used the two step stamp process and again I fussy cut the flamingos. Sighhhh, I’m going to find both of these dies online. Learn from my mistakes people!!

I wanted to back these cards right so I pulled my Watercolor Premium stack paper pad by DCWV. I like this paper pad for this project because it’s full of flamingos and pineapples. It was perfect for cutting mattes to add to my cards.

I tried a bit of blending. I used my Tim Holtz distressed inks to create a sunset to pop one of my flamingos against. I’m not a professional or anything but I’m breaking my arm patting myself on the back!

I liked the results of all of my cards. I would be proud to give these to folks. And, I know that as I use these techniques over and over, I’ll get better and better.

Do you buy the coordinating dies when you buy a stamp set? Have you regretted not doing it later?

FollowMe
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page